Management Team


CEFTER Director and ACE Centre Leader

Barnabas Achakpa Ikyo is a professor of Physics and the Director of the Centre for Food Technology and Research (CEFTER), Benue State University Makurdi, Nigeria. In 2014, he was appointed Project Manager of the Africa Centre of Excellence project won and hosted at CEFTER. He is a Visiting Fellow at the University Greenwich UK.

Prof. Barnabas Ikyo was awarded a PhD in Physics from the Advanced Technology Institute, University of Surrey Guildford, UK in 2011. After his PhD, he proceeded on a Post-Doctoral at the same University from April, 2012 to December 2013. He also holds a Master’s degree in Environmental Physics and Bachelor’s degree in Physics in 2006 and 2001 respectively. His research interest is in Photonics for electrical power generation (Solar energy), Environmental and Health Physics, characterization and optimization of Photonics based devices with applications in Quantum electronics, Energy and Environmental sensing.

Prof. B. Ikyo has 23 years’ teaching experience at College and University level. He is currently carrying out efficiency mapping for photovoltaic (solar panel) installation in North Central Nigeria. He is a crusader of efficient electric power usage and his documentaries on efficient use of energy to curb waste of electrical energy have gone on Channels, NTA and YouTube.

Prof Barnabas Ikyo is a researcher of international repute; His notable and most recent projects include £1Million Technology Strategy Board UK project to develop a solid state energy efficient test kit for Ecoli in water at the Advanced Technology Institute Guildford. He has managed World Bank grants in excess of $12Million at the Benue State University. He is a technical consultant to the Inter-University Council of East Africa on Centres’ of Excellence project in Africa.

His collaborations include optimization of energy devices for the Naval Research Lab Washington DC USA, the Walter Shoctky Institute, Munich Germany, Morroco Green Energy Park and several other institutions in 13 countries.

Prof. Barnabas Ikyo has over 49 publications including in Nature Scientific Reports. He has done courses in renewable energy generation, solar power installation and management, smart grids and intelligent devices. He is a member of the Nigerian Solar Energy Society and Nigerian Institute of Physics.

Dr Sylvester Obaike Adejo

Department of Chemistry

Dr. Sylvester Obaike Adejo, an Associate Professor of Physical and Food Chemistry, is of the Department of Chemistry, Benue State University, Makurdi. His areas of research are corrosion inhibition using eco-friendly materials, adsorption modelling and food formulation and micronutrients.

A widely travelled person, Dr. Adejo has attended and presented research papers in a number of international conferences/seminars/workshops and received trainings around the globe. His research work culminated into the proposal of a new two-parameter adsorption isotherm model known as Adejo-Ekwenchi Adsorption Isotherm Model. For his research out, Dr. Adejo was list by Google as one of the top-ranking scientists in Nigerian in 2015/2016 (www.worldscientistsranking/nigeria). He has developed, along with his research group, a new method of corrosion monitoring. Dr. Adejo has supervised and graduated quite a number of Master’s and PhD students. He has served as departmental examination officer, postgraduate seminar coordinator and postgraduate coordinator in the Department of chemistry. Dr. Adejo, currently, is a Deputy Director in-charge of research and collaboration, Africa Centre of Excellence for Food Technology and Research, Benue State University, Makurdi

Dr. Mrs Scholastica Ngunengen Banka

Centre Secretary

Dr. Mrs Scholastica Ngunengen Banka holds a Ph.D in Educational Management. She has a number of publications in local and international journals. She is a member of the university governing council representing the Benue State university congregation. She is the Centre secretary, she assists the centre leader on the day to day running of the centre. Among others, she is a FIMC, CMC, NIM, ANOPA.

Project Technical team Members

  • Name
  • Portfolio
  • Prof. M.M Kembe
  • Vice Chancellor, Benue State University, Makurdi
  • Prof. E.A Omudu
  • Member
  • Prof. J.O Fiase
  • Member
  • Dr. S. T. Ubwa
  • Director of Academic planning
  • Prof. Tseaa Shambe
  • Member
  • Prof. L. Ega
  • Member
  • Prof. B. A Kalu
  • University of Agriculture Makurdi – Member
  • Dr. M. Imande
  • HOD Maths and Computer Science
  • Dr. S. Agishi
  • HOD Voc. & Technical Education
  • Dr. Mrs O. Igbum
  • HOD Chemistry
  • Dr. (Mrs) Dinnah Ahule
  • Women Farmers Association – Member
  • Dr. D. Gernah
  • IFS, Uni. Agric. Makurdi – Member